top of page

Identity

I remember my first book. I was in primary school, I had just learned to read and write, and the time had come for my first book report, which I thought to be quite tragic. I didn’t want to read and I felt very lazy and confused. I couldn’t understand why I had to read something I would quickly forget. However, little by little, firstly, a love towards reading, and later writing grew gradually until it developed into daily writing. Sometimes for the public’s eyes and ears, but mostly for my own. Who could have known that a little girl too lazy to read a three page story would become an insatiable reader and passionate writer?

Recently, I’ve heard too many prejudices in too small a place.

Those prejudices where about books, writing, and one’s interest in those and similar things. I firmly defended my opinion, of course, perhaps a bit too firmly, but I consider that justified because of the circumstances I had found myself in. After this “educational conversation”, I asked myself why such judgment was present in my community. I’ve noticed that more and more teenagers face the problem of fitting in. A lot of teenagers fear admitting they are different, and I don’t wonder why when they so often meet judgment, not support, for what they love or do. Judgment comes as fast as mail from society, parents, etc. In any case, the judgment is not proportional to the support a young individual developing and discovering their interests should receive. I remember stories from my parents’ youth, when the number of books one read was lauded, but today’s youth hides their love of literature beneath a thick shield. However, this isn’t the only change in our society. Many are judged for the way they dress, the music they listen to, the people they hang out with, their hobbies, sexuality, religion, nationality, liberality, physical appearance, education, opinions, etc. This conversation inspired me to dedicate my next post on this blog to young people who have at least once in their lives, been faced with the judgmental looks of the B&H community that has one flaw—not acknowledging B&H theatre, sport, music, literature or voluntary work pioneers, until they have done something internationally notable. Differences are important and they make us unique. They are the wealth of community. They should be valued and revered, not soullessly cast away. The next time you hear society’s cruel judgment, remember who you are, why you do what you do, and be proud of who you are. Live and create with all your heart! With respect for what they believe in, a lot less young people would face the aftermath of being criticized by people that don’t understand them nor try to.

Embrace your passions and dreams, and don’t give up on them, no matter how hard it gets!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page