top of page

An Unnecessary Gay Plot

I usually do not talk about the things that I cannot understand, yet I must talk about the things that have a direct impact on me, my future, my life, and my way of living. It is a big confrontation and thus there is a reason to confront it this way, yet I must say I am doing this only for myself and by myself, but also on the behalf of LGBTQ+ youth living in the Ex-Yugoslav countries. You might be wondering if there is really a need to bring up gay people again for no reason. Well, I am sorry to say there is. You may be a straight person that considers this country free, but I am not feeling that freedom. So, let me broaden the part I don’t understand. I don’t understand why I can’t freely walk without fear of being beaten up by some random homophobe. I don’t understand why I can’t walk freely, holding hands on the street with my boyfriend. I don’t understand why I can’t kiss a guy unless we’re in a dark alley. I don’t understand why my biology teacher used to say homosexuality is a disease even though it was scientifically proven not to be. I don’t understand why you have to use the word gay as profanity, thus making it profane, or why you have to yell FAG when I’m casually walking down the street minding my own business. Because you are a bad person? Yes, you are. And yes, I called you a bad person. Why do we have such a need to know everything that’s happening in our neighborhood? It’s not your lawn for fuck’s sake. A long time ago I stopped caring about my life – why should I care about your opinion? Now I am sorry for all those unborn kids that have to go through coming out, being forced to playing with girls’ or boys’ toys, being teased and bullied, believing there might not be a chance for them to live a happy life – for those about to go through everything a non-cis person living in the Balkans has to go through. So, let me talk about it and slam some shit up on your face, not because of me, but because of those yet to be in a country calling itself free.

DISCLAIMER: the pronoun you refers directly to people described in the article above. Hopefully your day isn’t ruined by another unnecessary gay topic (sarcasm intended).

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page